New to Stretching.

Forum rules
NO SPAM

by htebazile » Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:25 am

Hi! I'm new to stretching (obviously, that's why I'm on the "New to Stretching" thread) so I just have a few questions before I delve into this whole thing.
I've had my ears regularly pierced (so an 18g?) since June and I was considering going straight to 14g since it's only skipping one size, but I saw another post where someone said you shouldn't skip, at all, even to just a 14g. So they scared me out of it but now where can I get size 16g plugs? I haven't been to too many sites because I don't know what's reliable but it seems like they all start at 14 or 10.
Also what material should I start out with? I've heard both stainless steel and titanium and I just want to know which is the absolute safest.

If I got any of the terminology wrong I apologize in advance, haha. Thanks!
htebazile

by LexBladerUk » Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:16 pm

I'm also new to stretching, but I can relate to this situation and I hope I can help you out.

Your best bet to go up in the small sizes is studs.
I first moved from up I think 18 or 16g to try and slightly stretch my lobe to help it heal (and it worked). I'm now at 14g/1.6mm.
All you need is a slightly wider stud to stretch it just a teeeeeeny little bit, until you're at a size which you can get tapers.

It will be a little uncomfortable for a while, but I guess that's just inevitable with stretching. Jump in a hot shower before you put the wider stud in just to ease it up, it should be pretty much painless!
LexBladerUk

by htebazile » Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:04 pm

Thank you! Stretching with studs for now definitely seems to make a lot more sense, haha.